Asia-Pacific Telecommunity Standardization Program (ASTAP)


The Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT) Standardization Program (ASTAP) was formed in 1998 in order to establish regional cooperation on standardization among APT Members and to contribute to global standardization activities. It is one of the major APT Work Program in the Area of Standardization and Technology Development. Over the years, ASTAP has matured to fulfil its objectives and has become a regional platform for cooperative standardization activities. Currently, ASTAP is working on many important areas related to standardization and technology development. Among those are Bridging Standardization Gap,  Green ICT, EMF Exposure, M2M, Future Network, NGN, Seamless Access Communication, Multimedia Applications, Information Security, SNLP and Accessibility and Usability. Recently, ASTAP has included the issues of Conformance and Interoperability (C&I) in its activities.


The objectives of ASTAP are as follows:

  • To establish regional cooperation on standardization and to contribute to global standardization activities;
  • To harmonize standardization activities in the region through cooperative standardization activities such as exchange of views and information;
  • To share knowledge and experience among APT members through studies, research and analysis on telecommunications/ICT areas;
  • To assist APT members, especially developing country members, to develop the skills in telecommunications/ICT areas by providing research and analysis-based study results and surveys on key telecommunications/ICT areas;
  • To enhance the level of expertise on standardization for telecommunications/ICT areas among APT members;
  • To foster appropriate institutional arrangements for promotion of telecommunications/ ICT standardization in the Asia-Pacific region.


ASTAP consists of Plenary, three Working Groups and ASTAP Advisory Board. ASTAP has a Chairman and Vice-Chairmen. The Working Groups of ASTAP are as follows:

Office Bearers

Chairman: Mr. Yochi Maeda (Japan)
Vice-Chairmen: Ms. Li Haihua (People's Rep. of China) and Dr. Hyoung Jun Kim (Repulic of Korea)

List of ASTAP Office Bearers (as of ASTAP-30)

Meetings/ Seminars/ Workshops




APT Secretariat
Asia-Pacific Telecommunity
12/49 Soi 5, Chaeng Watthana Road,
Bangkok 10210, Thailand
E-Mail :

Last updated on 27/05/2019
Copyright © 2019 All Rights Reserved.